CHAMPVA is the Civilian Health and Medical Program of the Department of Veterans Affairs. It is not TRICARE, it is not administered by a TRICARE regional contractor, and none of the Autism Care Demonstration machinery applies to it. The VA says so directly: "CHAMPVA is a VA program, while TRICARE is a regionally managed health care program for active duty and retired members of the uniformed services." The two are mutually exclusive — if you are eligible for or enrolled in TRICARE, you cannot get CHAMPVA benefits.
This is a deliberately short page, because CHAMPVA publishes deliberately little. The Guidebook confirms that applied behavior analysis is a covered benefit, that treatment requires pre-authorization while the evaluation does not, and what the family pays. The detailed ABA rules are in the CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual (Ch. 2 Sec. 18.6): a DSM diagnosis of ASD, a treatment plan with every pre-authorization request, approval for up to a year, BCBA-level authorized providers who bill for their technicians, and no per-code unit caps. Writing in TRICARE’s rules would be wrong, so this guide tells you what is verified and where to call for the rest.
CHAMPVA covers the spouse or dependent child of a veteran rated permanently and totally disabled from a service-connected disability; the surviving spouse or child of a veteran who died from a service-connected disability; and the surviving spouse or child of a veteran who was rated permanently and totally disabled from a service-connected disability at the time of death. Dependent children can remain eligible from 18 to 23 while enrolled in school, and a child who is permanently unable to support themselves because of a disability that began before age 18 can remain eligible. Surviving spouses who remarry at age 55 or older keep the benefit.[1][2]
The exclusion matters for triage: a person eligible for or enrolled in TRICARE cannot get CHAMPVA. The VA is explicit that a military retiree, or the spouse of a veteran killed in action, is and may always be a TRICARE beneficiary and cannot choose between the programs. If a family arrives holding both stories, sort that out before you build a case around the wrong program’s rules.[1][2]
ABA appears twice in the current Guidebook, updated Jan. 1, 2025. It is listed among the services that require pre-authorization, as "Applied behavior analysis (ABA) for treatment only (not the evaluation)." And it has its own line in the Behavioral Health Services benefit table — "Autism – Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA) requires pre-authorization for treatment only (not evaluation)" — with the cost-share shown alongside.[2]
That split is the operationally useful fact. The diagnostic evaluation does not need to be pre-authorized, so a family can be evaluated without waiting on CHAMPVA. Treatment does, and CHAMPVA takes pre-authorization requests directly: by phone on 800-733-8387, by email to VHAHAC.preauthorizationFM@va.gov, or by mail to VHA Office of Integrated Veteran Care, CHAMPVA Beneficiary Claims, P.O. Box 500, Spring City, PA 19475.[2]
Two exceptions to the pre-authorization requirement are published. Services listed as requiring pre-authorization do not require it when provided through CITI, the CHAMPVA In-house Treatment Initiative at a VA medical center — and CITI services are also exempt from beneficiary cost sharing. And where other health insurance has already authorized the service, CHAMPVA does not require its own pre-authorization; but if that other insurer denies for failure to follow its rules or for lack of medical necessity, CHAMPVA will deny as well.[2]
The detailed rules sit in the CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual, Chapter 2, Section 18.6 (Psychological Testing), last changed by Transmittal 152 in May 2025. The child “must be diagnosed with ASD using the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) criteria.” Pre-authorization “must include an ABA TP,” and once CHAMPVA has the plan, “preauthorization may be granted for one year of ABA services.”[11][12][13]
Who may provide it: BCBAs, BCBA-Ds or other qualified CHAMPVA-authorized independent providers with a master’s degree or above and a current state licence (or BACB certification where the state does not license), who employ or contract with assistant behavior analysts (LABA, BCaBA, QASP) and technicians (RBT, ABAT, BCAT) and supervise them directly. “Only one authorized ABA provider is authorized to provide ABA services for each beneficiary at a time,” and that provider “is the sole provider authorized to bill for ABA services.”[11][12][13]
Unit caps: none per code. The manual sets no daily or weekly maximum for any ABA code; the limit is what the one-year pre-authorization approves. The mental-health section records that on “May 30, 2024, quantitative limits are removed for covered mental health and substance use disorder (SUD) care,” with documentation available on request to support the level of care.[11][12][13]
What is excluded: ABA for any diagnosis other than ASD; diagnoses and referrals from nurse practitioners or physician assistants; training of the technicians; billing for e-mails, driving, or office and therapeutic supplies; “Billing for multiple providers’ time during one ABA session with a child when more than one ABA provider is present”; educational ABA and school tuition; restraints; custodial, personal and child care; group ABA with three or more children and one or two providers; and indirect supervision.[11][12][13]
Claims: the claims chapter (Ch. 3 Sec. 1.1) asks for the provider’s name and address, remittance address, the physical location where services were rendered, the individual provider’s professional status, TIN and NPI. A referring provider and a taxonomy code are not on that list; the referring provider’s name belongs in the assessment and treatment plan.[11][12][13]
Licensure: “If a state requires licensure or certification, the ABA provider is required to possess that state licensure or certification to be a CHAMPVA-authorized provider,” and where the state does not license, current BCBA or BCBA-D certification from the BACB qualifies.[11][12][13]
Renewals and progress data: the manual sets no progress-report format and does not ask for graphs. On the plan itself it says pre-authorization “must include an ABA TP,” that it “may be granted for one year of ABA services” once the TP is received, and that “The TP and updates shall contain signatures by the authorized ABA supervisor and the parent/caregiver.” The TP is defined as setting out “the identified behaviors targeted for improvement, the ABA specialized interventions to achieve improvement, and the short-term and long-term ABA TP objectives and goals.” Assessments and TPs must also carry the date of the initial assessment and TP and the referring provider’s name. Ask the CHAMPVA pre-authorization reviewer if the yearly renewal needs anything more.[11][12][13]
Codes and EVV: Section 18.6 publishes no ABA CPT code list, so the codes are whatever the pre-authorization approves. What it rules out is group ABA (“three or more children with one or two providers”), “Indirect supervision” and billing for more than one provider’s time in a session. It contains no electronic visit verification requirement.[11][12][13]
Where CHAMPVA is the primary payer, ABA carries the standard outpatient split: the patient pays the annual deductible of $50 per individual or $100 per family, then a 25% cost-share, and CHAMPVA pays 75% of the allowable amount. Yearly catastrophic cap protection limits beneficiary cost sharing to $3,000 annually, after which CHAMPVA covers 100% of allowable costs for the rest of the year.[2]
Where CHAMPVA is secondary or tertiary — which is common, because CHAMPVA is a payer of last resort behind most other coverage — the Guidebook states the patient pays nothing in most cases and CHAMPVA pays up to 100% of the allowable amount. Intake should therefore always capture other coverage first: with a commercial plan in front, the CHAMPVA question is usually about the residual, not the whole episode. And note the Guidebook’s own caveat: services listed as a covered benefit do not guarantee payment, because there may be specific coverage guidelines behind the line item.[2]
The honest inventory of gaps: the Guidebook does not state an ASD diagnosis requirement or a recency rule; it does not name required assessment instruments or outcome measures; it does not state how long an ABA authorization runs or what a reauthorization requires; it does not define who may render or supervise ABA, or set a supervision ratio; it does not publish per-day unit limits, concurrent-billing rules or a place-of-service policy; and it does not publish an ABA-specific medical-necessity policy. Detailed operating rules live in the CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual rather than the Guidebook.[2][1]
So the pre-authorization call is also your policy call. Ask, and get it in writing: what diagnosis documentation they want and how recent; what the authorization period is and what a renewal needs; which provider credentials they will recognise for the rendering and supervising roles; whether any settings are excluded; and whether the family has other health insurance that would change the pre-authorization posture entirely. Do not assume TRICARE’s answers apply — different department, different statute, different rules.[2][1]
CHAMPVA publishes no telehealth rule for ABA, and no rule tying the provider’s licence to the state where the beneficiary lives. What it does publish is a licence test. The CHAMPVA regulation defines an authorized non-VA provider as one that “Is licensed or certified by a state to provide the medical services and supplies.” It also accepts one that, “Where a state does not offer licensure or certification, is otherwise certified by an appropriate national or professional association that sets standards for the specific medical provider.” The Guidebook says: “We generally consider any provider to be authorized if they are performing services within the scope of their license.” Neither says which state’s licence counts when the BCBA and the child are in different states.[4][3][5][7]
So the answer runs through two checks. The first is state law. CHAMPVA’s test is scope of licence, so confirm that the BCBA’s licence, or the child’s state’s rules, actually allow practice into the state where the child is. The second is CHAMPVA itself. ABA treatment needs pre-authorization, so name the delivery mode and the provider’s licence state in the request and get the answer in writing. On telehealth in general, a 2024 final rule (effective May 30, 2024) removed CHAMPVA’s exclusion of audio-only care. Telephone services on or after May 12, 2020 “are not excluded when the services are otherwise covered CHAMPVA services provided through this modality and are medically necessary and appropriate.” Detailed operating rules sit in the CHAMPVA Policy Manual, which is behind a VA sign-in.[4][3][5][7]
Plan on pre-authorization before the first treatment session. The Guidebook lists “Applied behavior analysis (ABA) for treatment only (not the evaluation)” among services that require pre-authorization and describes no back-dating route. The regulation has one narrow retrospective path: “CHAMPVA will perform a retrospective medical necessity review during the coordination of benefits process if: (1) It is determined that CHAMPVA is the responsible payer for services and supplies but CHAMPVA preauthorization was not obtained prior to delivery of the services or supplies; and, (2) The claim for payment is filed within the appropriate one-year period.” That is a review of a claim in the coordination-of-benefits process, not a way to authorize treatment after the fact. The Guidebook’s filing limit is one year after the date of service. Where other health insurance is primary and has authorized the service, CHAMPVA requires no pre-authorization of its own.[6][3]
The filing limit is one year. The Guidebook: “You have one year after the date of service to file any claims,” claims filed late “will be denied,” and a timely-filing denial is challenged through the appeal process. Where CHAMPVA eligibility was granted retroactively, claims for dates on or after the effective date are due within 180 days of the first CHAMPVA card. With other insurance in front, file there first and send CHAMPVA that plan’s EOB.[3][8]
VA’s CHAMPVA provider page gives the route: electronic 837 claims to payer ID 84146 through VA’s clearinghouse (Optum Insight), or paper claims to VHA Office of Integrated Veteran Care, CHAMPVA Claims, PO Box 30750, Tampa, FL 33630-3750. Its claim tips ask for the complete nine-digit EIN/TIN, both the billing address and the physical address where services were provided, and each service and date of service on its own line. The same page lists 833-930-0816 for preauthorization requests. VA publishes no ABA rule on whose NPI goes on the claim (see the billing field below).[3][8]
Appeals: a decision review is available when CHAMPVA decided the claim within the last year, through a higher-level review, a supplemental claim with new evidence, or a Board of Veterans’ Appeals appeal. A denied pre-authorization has its own route: “you have one year from the date of the VA notification to submit in writing why you believe the decision is incorrect,” to CHAMPVA Appeals, P.O. Box 600, Spring City, PA 19475.[3][8]
This page is not legal advice. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual (Ch. 2 Sec. 18.6) says “Only one authorized ABA provider is authorized to provide ABA services for each beneficiary at a time.” When the primary provider consults another authorized ABA provider, the primary provider “will remain responsible for the TP and is the sole provider authorized to bill for ABA services.” A family moving to a new ABA provider therefore needs the new provider’s treatment plan and pre-authorization; the manual does not describe moving an existing authorization.[11]
On ending services, the manual says only that “Services are no longer appropriate when the authorized ABA supervisor has determined the beneficiary no longer requires the services.” It sets no notice period and no discharge-summary rule for a provider who stops treatment.[11]
The AMA CPT Editorial Panel accepted six new adaptive behavior codes, revised 97151–97158 and deleted 0362T and 0373T, effective January 2027. The AMA's CPT 2027 HCPAC vote document lists the new codes as 97148 and 97149 (supporting assessment of harmful behavior, two technicians), 97159 and 97160 (treatment of harmful behavior, two technicians), 97173 (treatment with analysis delivered by the physician or QHP) and 97180 (non-face-to-face services by the physician or QHP). The codes are national; what each payer decides is which ones it authorizes and pays, and how.[14][15][11]
CHAMPVA's Operational Policy Manual ABA section (Chapter 2, Section 18.6, Transmittal 152, 05/22/2025) names no CPT codes and says nothing about the 2027 changes, and no CHAMPVA notice could be found as of November 1, 2026. Ask CHAMPVA which codes to bill for ABA from January 1, 2027.[14][15][11]
The clinical policy above is national, but three state-level layers change what a family's card actually buys: the state autism mandate (what fully-insured plans must cover), the carrier's state Medicaid plans (which follow the state Medicaid rules, not this commercial policy), and plan funding type (self-funded ERISA plans can carve benefits differently). Here's the picture in the states we cover:
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Georgia sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Georgia Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in North Carolina sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: North Carolina Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Indiana sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Indiana Medicaid (IHCP) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Virginia sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Virginia Medicaid (DMAS) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Tennessee sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: TennCare (Tennessee Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Ohio sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Ohio Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in New Jersey sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: NJ FamilyCare (New Jersey Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Maryland sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Maryland Medicaid (Medical Assistance) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Colorado sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Health First Colorado (Colorado Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Utah sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Utah Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Arizona sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: AHCCCS (Arizona Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in New York sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: New York Medicaid (NYS DOH / eMedNY) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in New Mexico sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: New Mexico Medicaid (Turquoise Care) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Missouri sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: MO HealthNet (Missouri Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Texas sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Texas Medicaid (THSteps-CCP) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Massachusetts sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: MassHealth (Massachusetts Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Florida sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Florida Medicaid — Behavior Analysis Services (AHCA) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Kansas sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: KanCare (Kansas Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Nebraska sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Nebraska Medicaid (Heritage Health) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Idaho sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Idaho Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Iowa sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Iowa Medicaid (IA Health Link) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Oklahoma sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Oklahoma Medicaid (SoonerCare / SoonerSelect) - Oklahoma Health Care Authority guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Michigan sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Michigan Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Hawaii sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Hawaii Medicaid (Med-QUEST / QUEST Integration) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in California sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Medi-Cal (California Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Pennsylvania sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Pennsylvania Medicaid (Medical Assistance) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in New Hampshire sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: New Hampshire Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Wisconsin sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Wisconsin Medicaid (ForwardHealth) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in South Carolina sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: South Carolina Healthy Connections Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Kentucky sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Kentucky Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Washington sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Washington Apple Health (Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Connecticut sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Connecticut Medicaid (HUSKY Health) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Illinois sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Illinois Medicaid (HFS) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Louisiana sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Louisiana Medicaid (Healthy Louisiana) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Oregon sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Oregon Health Plan (Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Minnesota sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Minnesota Medical Assistance (EIDBI) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Maine sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: MaineCare (Maine Medicaid) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Vermont sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Vermont Medicaid (Green Mountain Care / DVHA) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Alabama sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Alabama Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in South Dakota sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: South Dakota Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Nevada sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Nevada Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Montana sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Montana Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Alaska sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Alaska Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in North Dakota sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: North Dakota Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Arkansas sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Arkansas Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Rhode Island sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Rhode Island Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Wyoming sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Wyoming Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in West Virginia sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: West Virginia Medicaid (BMS) guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in District of Columbia sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: District of Columbia Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Mississippi sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Mississippi Medicaid guide →
Fully-insured CHAMPVA plans issued in Delaware sit under the state mandate above. State Medicaid baseline: Delaware Medicaid (DMAP / Diamond State Health Plan) guide →
The questions that decide whether a family can start with CHAMPVA, and what they have to bring. Each maps onto something intake should ask on the first call.
No ABA-specific age limit is published; what bounds the case is dependent eligibility. A dependent child can remain eligible from 18 to 23 while enrolled in school, and a child who is permanently unable to support themselves because of a disability that began before age 18 can remain eligible beyond that. Eligibility runs to the spouse or dependent child of a veteran rated permanently and totally disabled from a service-connected disability, and to the surviving spouse or child of a veteran who died from — or was rated permanently and totally disabled from — a service-connected disability.[1][2]
The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual’s ABA section excludes “Diagnoses and referrals from Nurse Practitioners (NPs), Physician Assistants (PAs), or other providers not having the qualifications listed in Operational Policy.” It does not list the qualifying diagnosing credentials itself; the mental-health section lists the qualified mental-health providers as physicians (MD/DO), clinical psychologists, certified psychiatric nurse specialists, certified clinical social workers, certified marriage and family therapists, TRICARE-certified mental health counselors, and pastoral or mental health counselors under a physician’s supervision. Do not apply TRICARE’s ACD list. LCSW: not excluded, and not expressly approved. The ABA section excludes only NPs, PAs and providers without the listed qualifications, and the mental-health section counts certified clinical social workers among qualified mental-health providers. Confirm an LCSW’s diagnosis with CHAMPVA at pre-authorization.[11][12]
The split is the operationally useful fact, and it is published twice. ABA appears among the services requiring pre-authorization as “Applied behavior analysis (ABA) for treatment only (not the evaluation),” and again in the Behavioral Health Services benefit table as “Autism – Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA) requires pre-authorization for treatment only (not evaluation).” So a family can be evaluated without waiting on CHAMPVA. Treatment requests go directly to CHAMPVA by phone on 800-733-8387, by email to VHAHAC.preauthorizationFM@va.gov, or by mail to the VHA Office of Integrated Veteran Care. Two published exceptions remove the requirement entirely: services provided through CITI, the CHAMPVA In-house Treatment Initiative at a VA medical center (also exempt from beneficiary cost sharing), and services another health insurer has already authorized — though if that insurer denies for failure to follow its rules or for lack of medical necessity, CHAMPVA will deny as well. There is no separate physician-order form; the referral travels inside the treatment plan. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual requires the ABA assessment and treatment plan to show the “Date the initial ABA assessment and initial TP was completed, and name of the referring provider,” and excludes “Diagnoses and referrals from Nurse Practitioners (NPs), Physician Assistants (PAs), or other providers not having the qualifications listed.” No validity period for the referral is set.[2][11]
CHAMPVA pays last: “CHAMPVA only pays first if you have one of four types of these other health insurance …: Medicaid; Indian Health Services; State Victims of Crime Compensation Program; CHAMPVA supplemental health insurance. If you have any other type of other health insurance, CHAMPVA will pay secondary.” File with the other plan first, then send CHAMPVA the claim with the other plan’s EOB and the provider’s itemized bill — “CHAMPVA benefits will generally not be paid until the claim has been filed with the OHI and the OHI has issued a final payment determination.” The practical upside: “When other health insurance has authorized a service listed under ‘Services that require pre-authorization’ … we do not require pre-authorization for that service.” The catch: “If other health insurance denies coverage because their rules for coverage were not followed or medical necessity was not established, we will also deny coverage.”[3][9]
Not set. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual’s ABA section requires an ASD diagnosis “using the current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) criteria” but sets no maximum age for the diagnostic evaluation. Capture the evaluation date and the diagnosing provider anyway; the assessment and treatment plan must name the referring provider.[11][2]
Ask the plan: CHAMPVA customer service and pre-authorization line, 800-733-8387, or VHAHAC.preauthorizationFM@va.gov. Ask when you request pre-authorization and get the answer in writing.
None required. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual’s ABA section requires a DSM diagnosis of ASD and names no required instrument. It defines the PDDBI (an informant rating scale for ages 2–18.5) in its descriptions but does not make it a condition of coverage, and none of the ACD’s outcome-measure regime applies.[11]
Ask the plan: CHAMPVA customer service and pre-authorization line, 800-733-8387, or VHAHAC.preauthorizationFM@va.gov. Ask when you request pre-authorization and get the answer in writing.
Not settled for ABA. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual describes ABA specialized interventions as delivered “during one-on-one in-person (i.e., face to face) interactions with the beneficiary.” The mental-health section says “Mental health services or advice provided as telehealth, including by audio-only telephone, are a covered benefit,” and psychological testing by telehealth is covered. No ABA code list, modifier or POS is published, so ask before delivering any ABA code remotely.[11][12]
Ask the plan: CHAMPVA pre-authorization line, 800-733-8387: name the codes and the delivery mode in the request and get the answer in writing.
CHAMPVA requires pre-authorization for “Applied behavior analysis (ABA) for treatment only (not the evaluation).” Once CHAMPVA has the treatment plan, “preauthorization may be granted for one year of ABA services” (Operational Policy Manual Ch. 2 Sec. 18.6). Neither the manual, the Guidebook nor 38 CFR 17.273 states how long VA has to decide, and no reauthorization lead time is published. When the child’s other insurance is primary and has authorized the service, CHAMPVA does not require its own pre-authorization.[3][11][6]
Ask the plan: CHAMPVA pre-authorization line (833-930-0816 / 800-733-8387): ask the decision turnaround and how far ahead to submit each renewal.
Coverage decides whether CHAMPVA pays. These decide whether the claim survives: how sessions must be staffed and supervised, what may be billed concurrently, the per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.
Authorized ABA providers “serve as direct supervisors of the assistant behavior analysts and BTs and ensure that the quality of the ABA services provided by assistant behavior analysts and BTs meets the minimum standards of recommendations and rules promulgated by the applicable certifying body” (CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual Ch. 2 Sec. 18.6). Qualified assistants are LABAs, BCaBAs and QASPs; technicians are high-school-level paraprofessionals such as RBTs, ABATs and BCATs. “Indirect supervision” is excluded, and so is “Training of the BTs.” No CHAMPVA supervision ratio or percentage is set beyond the certifying body’s.[11]
No overlapping provider time. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual’s ABA section (Ch. 2 Sec. 18.6) excludes “Billing for multiple providers’ time during one ABA session with a child when more than one ABA provider is present,” so a BCBA’s 97155 cannot be billed for the same session time as the technician’s 97153. It also excludes “Indirect supervision” and “Group ABA services, which are defined as multiple beneficiaries with fewer providers, such as three or more children with one or two providers.” Do not import TRICARE’s ACD matrix — CHAMPVA is a separate VA program.[11]
No per-code unit cap is published. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual’s ABA section (Ch. 2 Sec. 18.6, Transmittal 152, May 2025) sets no daily or weekly maximum for 97151–97158; it says pre-authorization “must include an ABA TP” and “may be granted for one year of ABA services,” so the ceiling is the weekly hours CHAMPVA approves on the treatment plan. The mental-health section (Ch. 2 Sec. 18.1) adds: “May 30, 2024, quantitative limits are removed for covered mental health and substance use disorder (SUD) care. Documentation may be requested to determine medical necessity and to support the level of care.” Psychological testing is “not counted against the number of weekly hours allowed for ABA.” Bill only the units on the approval letter.[11][12]
The authorized ABA provider bills. Under the CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual (Ch. 2 Sec. 18.6), authorized ABA providers are BCBAs, BCBA-Ds “or other qualified CHAMPVA-authorized independent providers” who employ or contract with assistant behavior analysts and behavior technicians and “serve as direct supervisors” of them. “Only one authorized ABA provider is authorized to provide ABA services for each beneficiary at a time,” and that primary provider “is the sole provider authorized to bill for ABA services,” even when it consults another. The general rule for employees (Ch. 2 Sec. 15.4) is the same: “The authorized provider must bill for the services rendered by the employees.” The claims chapter asks for the provider’s NPI, TIN, professional status and the physical location of service; it does not say whether a technician’s own NPI also goes on the line.[11][16][13]
No session-note signature rule is published. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual’s ABA section sets a signature rule for the treatment plan instead: “The TP and updates shall contain signatures by the authorized ABA supervisor and the parent/caregiver,” and the assessment and TP must show the date they were completed and the name of the referring provider.[11]
Ask the plan: CHAMPVA pre-authorization line, 800-733-8387: ask what session-note content and signatures CHAMPVA expects on a records request.
No list of allowed settings is published. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual’s ABA section excludes “Educational/academic and vocational rehabilitation,” “Educational ABA services,” school tuition that includes ABA, and “Custodial care, personal care, and/or child care.” Services delivered in a VA medical center under CITI are exempt from pre-authorization and cost sharing (Guidebook).[11][2]
Ask the plan: Confirm allowable settings in the pre-authorization decision before scheduling home, school or community sessions; CHAMPVA 800-733-8387
CHAMPVA’s ABA section does not say. It excludes diagnoses and referrals from nurse practitioners, physician assistants and others without the listed qualifications, and its mental-health section lists certified clinical social workers among qualified mental-health providers. Ask CHAMPVA at pre-authorization before relying on an LCSW diagnosis.
The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual’s ABA section has no EVV requirement and no ABA code list. It excludes group ABA (three or more children with one or two providers), indirect supervision, and billing more than one provider’s time in one session. Bill the codes and units on the pre-authorization.
No format is published. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual requires an ABA treatment plan with the target behaviors, the interventions and the short- and long-term objectives and goals. Pre-authorization can then run for one year, and the plan and each update must be signed by the ABA supervisor and the parent or caregiver. Ask the pre-authorization reviewer whether the renewal needs anything beyond that.
CHAMPVA publishes no taxonomy rule. Its Operational Policy Manual claims chapter lists the provider information a claim needs (name and address, remittance address, physical location of service, professional status, TIN and NPI) and taxonomy is not among them. Ask the pre-authorization unit if a claim rejects.
Yes. Applied behavior analysis appears in the CHAMPVA Guidebook as a covered behavioral health benefit, with pre-authorization required for treatment only, not for the evaluation.
No. CHAMPVA is a VA program and TRICARE is the Department of Defense program. They are mutually exclusive: a person eligible for or enrolled in TRICARE cannot receive CHAMPVA benefits. None of the TRICARE Autism Care Demonstration rules apply to CHAMPVA.
When CHAMPVA is the primary payer, the annual deductible of $50 per individual or $100 per family, then a 25% cost-share, with CHAMPVA paying 75% of the allowable amount. Beneficiary cost sharing is capped at $3,000 a year. When CHAMPVA is secondary or tertiary, the patient pays nothing in most cases.
No. The VA states that CHAMPVA does not have a network of health care providers and beneficiaries can visit most authorized providers. Pre-authorization, not network status, is the gate for ABA treatment.
Up to a year. The CHAMPVA Operational Policy Manual says pre-authorization for ABA "must include an ABA TP" and, once CHAMPVA has it, "may be granted for one year of ABA services." Ask on 800-733-8387 what the renewal needs.
CHAMPVA publishes no per-code daily or weekly unit cap. Its Operational Policy Manual approves ABA for up to a year on the treatment plan, so the cap is the weekly hours on the approval letter, and its mental-health section says quantitative limits were removed for covered mental health care from May 30, 2024. It does exclude billing two providers’ time in the same session and group ABA with three or more children per one or two providers.
Not as a claim field. The CHAMPVA claims chapter lists the provider’s name, address, service location, professional status, TIN and NPI, with no referring provider. The referring provider’s name must appear in the ABA assessment and treatment plan instead, and CHAMPVA excludes diagnoses and referrals from nurse practitioners and physician assistants.
CHAMPVA publishes no rule on it. Its test is that the provider is licensed or certified by a state (or nationally certified where the state does not license) and works within the scope of that licence. Whether the licence reaches a child in another state depends on the state laws involved. Name the delivery mode and licence state in the pre-authorization request and get CHAMPVA’s answer in writing.
Not as a routine. ABA treatment needs pre-authorization before it starts. The regulation allows a retrospective medical-necessity review only in coordination of benefits: when CHAMPVA turns out to be the responsible payer, pre-authorization was not obtained, and the claim is filed within one year.
One year after the date of service. Claims filed after that are denied, and a timely-filing denial goes through CHAMPVA’s appeal process. If eligibility was granted retroactively, there are 180 days from the first CHAMPVA card to file for the earlier dates.
Under the authorized ABA provider. CHAMPVA’s Operational Policy Manual makes the BCBA, BCBA-D or other authorized independent provider the only one who may bill: technicians and assistants work under that provider, and the primary authorized ABA provider "is the sole provider authorized to bill for ABA services." The manual does not say whether a technician’s own NPI also goes on the line, so ask the pre-authorization unit (833-930-0816) before the first claim.
For a claim decided in the last year, request a higher-level review, file a supplemental claim with new evidence, or appeal to the Board of Veterans’ Appeals. For a denied pre-authorization, write to CHAMPVA Appeals within one year of the VA notice with the denial letter and any new documentation.
Payer policies change frequently and vary by plan, state, and funding type. This guide was compiled from the sources above and last reviewed October 2026; it is general information, not billing, legal, or clinical advice. Always verify current requirements against the payer's live policy and a benefits check for the specific member.
Carelu collects all of this automatically.
Every ID, document, and detail this payer requires — gathered conversationally the moment a family reaches out, with insurance verified before your team touches the file.
Get a Demo