California calls ABA "Behavioral Health Treatment" (BHT), and Medi-Cal covers it as an EPSDT benefit for every member under 21 for whom a licensed physician or psychologist recommends it — "regardless of diagnosis." For the vast majority of families the payer is not DHCS directly but their county Medi-Cal managed care plan: APL 23-010 makes the plan "the primary Provider of Medically Necessary BHT services," responsible for filling whatever the school district or Regional Center does not. Regional Centers (the Department of Developmental Services system under the Lanterman Act) sit last in line: they will not buy a service Medi-Cal or private insurance should cover. The practical upshot for intake: find out which Medi-Cal plan the child is enrolled in, get the physician or psychologist recommendation, and route there first.
The State Plan (Limitations on Attachment 3.1-A, effective January 1, 2025) covers BHT "as medically necessary services for Medi-Cal members under 21 years of age, regardless of diagnosis, based upon a recommendation of a licensed physician or a licensed psychologist." APL 23-010 frames it the same way: coverage "includes children diagnosed with autism spectrum disorder (ASD) and children for whom a licensed physician, surgeon, or psychologist determines that BHT services … are Medically Necessary, regardless of diagnosis." The APL's eligibility criteria add that the member must be medically stable and not need 24-hour medical or nursing monitoring. Intake should collect the recommendation letter first; a full diagnostic report helps but is not the gate.[2][1]
The benefit is broad by design. "Blanket limitations or restrictions on benefits and services, such as caps on number of hours, are prohibited," plans "must not reduce the number of Medically Necessary BHT hours … by the hours the Member spends at school," and plans "cannot require participation by parents/guardians" (guardians must be permitted to take part). Excluded: respite, day care, recreational and educational services, custodial care, services delivered by a parent, and services in a "non-conventional setting, including, but not limited to, resorts, spas, and camps."[2][1]
Managed-care members (about 12.8 million people across all Medi-Cal medical plans in August 2026): BHT is the plan's responsibility. APL 23-010 says "MCPs have primary responsibility for ensuring that EPSDT members receive all Medically Necessary BHT services," and "When services provided by a LEA or RC do not fulfill all of the Member's medical need for BHT services, the MCP must authorize any remaining Medically Necessary services." A service only counts as duplicative if the other entity's service "is currently being provided, is the same type of service (e.g., ABA), addresses the same deficits, and is directed to equivalent goals." Plans "must not rely on LEA programs to be the primary Provider," and if plan-approved BHT is written into an IEP, the plan "is solely financially responsible" for it "until such time that the IEP is amended."[1][5][11][14]
Fee-for-service members: the Provider Manual gives them "a choice to receive BHT services either through their local Regional Centers or directly through enrolled Medi-Cal fee-for-service providers who bill DHCS," the Regional Center route being funded through an interagency agreement between DHCS and DDS.[1][5][11][14]
Regional Centers: under the Lanterman Act they "shall not purchase any service that would otherwise be available from Medi-Cal, … private insurance, or a health care service plan" when the family qualifies for that coverage, and for consumers three and older they will not buy medical services without "documentation of a Medi-Cal, private insurance, or a health care service plan denial" (W&I 4659). They can pay while coverage is pursued or on appeal. A family whose Regional Center service coordinator is "working on ABA" still belongs at the Medi-Cal plan first.[1][5][11][14]
Every California county runs one of five plan models: County Organized Health System (one public plan for the county — 34 counties, e.g. CalOptima in Orange and Partnership HealthPlan across the north), Two-Plan (a local initiative plus a commercial plan — 14 counties, e.g. L.A. Care and Health Net in Los Angeles), Geographic Managed Care (Sacramento and San Diego, several plans), Single Plan (Alameda, Contra Costa, Imperial) and Regional (Amador, Calaveras, Inyo, Mono, Tuolumne). Kaiser Permanente has held a direct DHCS contract since January 2024 and appears across roughly 30 counties.[14][16]
By August 2026 enrollment, the largest plans are L.A. Care Health Plan (2.08 million), Health Net Community Solutions (about 1.44 million), Inland Empire Health Plan (1.37 million), Kaiser Permanente (1.26 million), Partnership HealthPlan of California (847,000), CalOptima Health (773,000), Anthem Blue Cross Partnership Plan (745,000) and Molina Healthcare of California (462,000) — each has its own guide in this directory. The rest: Central California Alliance for Health, CalViva Health (Fresno/Kings/Madera, administered with Health Net), Kern Health Systems, Health Plan of San Joaquin, Alameda Alliance for Health, Community Health Group, Santa Clara Family Health Plan, Contra Costa Health Plan, CenCal Health, Gold Coast Health Plan, Blue Shield of California Promise Health Plan, San Francisco Health Plan, Health Plan of San Mateo, Community Health Plan of Imperial Valley and Mountain Valley Health Plan. Aetna Better Health of California left Medi-Cal on January 1, 2024; neither Aetna, Cigna nor UnitedHealthcare runs a Medi-Cal plan in 2026.[14][16]
California has no behavior analyst license — it does not appear on the BACB's licensure table. In Medi-Cal, staffing runs on the qualified autism service (QAS) tiers in State Plan Supplement 6 (effective January 1, 2026). A QAS Provider is a BCBA ("certified by a national entity, such as the Behavior Analyst Certification Board, that is accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies") or a licensed practitioner (physician, psychologist, MFT, LCSW, LPCC, educational psychologist, OT, PT, SLP, audiologist). A QAS Professional works "supervised by a qualified autism service provider": BCaBAs, Behavior Management Assistants, registered associates (ACSW, AMFT, APCC) and psychological associates. A QAS Paraprofessional — the technician tier — is supervised by a provider or professional and qualifies with a high-school diploma plus 30 hours of competency-based training designed by a BCBA and six months of experience, or an associate degree plus six months. No RBT credential is required, and no state document sets a supervision ratio.[3][17][18][15]
SB 402 (Stats. 2025, ch. 413, effective January 1, 2026) moved the QAS definitions into a new Business & Professions Code chapter (§§ 4999.200–4999.202) and added QAS providers and professionals to the telehealth provider definition — but it did not create a license.[3][17][18][15]
Medi-Cal does not price fee-for-service BHT on a DHCS CPT-unit schedule for behavior analysts. State Plan Attachment 4.19-B (pp. 89–90, effective January 1, 2025) pays behavior analysts, associate behavior analysts, behavior management assistants and behavioral technicians their "usual and customary rate" if they have one, and otherwise "the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) Fee Schedules methodology" — the DDS rate-reform models, set per regional center, paid at "90% of the rate study benchmark, with the opportunity to earn the remaining 10% through the Quality Incentive Program." The DDS files effective July 1, 2026 put the Behavior Analyst hourly full rate between $141.11 (e.g. Eastern Los Angeles, South Central Los Angeles, Westside) and $164.17 (East Bay, San Andreas), and the Behavior Technician-Paraprofessional between $67.22 and $78.50 — the 90% base is what is paid before quality incentives. How DHCS converts those hourly rates into 15-minute CPT units on a claim is not stated in the pages read. Medi-Cal plan rates are contract rates; no DHCS BHT directed payment or minimum fee schedule for plans was found.[4][13]
The questions that decide whether a family can start with Medi-Cal (California Medicaid), and what they have to bring. Each maps onto something intake should ask on the first call.
Under 21. The State Plan covers BHT "for Medi-Cal members under 21 years of age" and APL 23-010 is titled "Responsibilities for Behavioral Health Treatment Coverage for Members Under the Age of 21." No minimum age is set, and neither document creates an adult BHT benefit.[2][1]
The gate is a recommendation, not a diagnosis, and it must come from "a licensed physician or a licensed psychologist" (State Plan, 2025) — APL 23-010 says "a licensed physician, surgeon, or psychologist," and its first eligibility criterion is that the member "Has a recommendation from a licensed physician, surgeon, or psychologist that evidence-based BHT services are Medically Necessary."[2][1]
Yes — a written recommendation from a licensed physician/surgeon or psychologist that BHT is medically necessary is the front door (APL 23-010 eligibility criterion 1; State Plan item 13c). No validity period is stated at the state level. Treatment then runs under a plan-approved behavioral treatment plan.[1][2]
Medi-Cal plans: APL 21-011 remains the operative letter (APL 26-008 says "For information on authorization timeframes and noticing requirements, see APL 21-011"): standard prospective and concurrent decisions in "no longer than five business days from the MCP’s receipt of information reasonably necessary," not to exceed 14 calendar days from receipt of the request, and expedited decisions within 72 hours. For rating periods starting on or after January 1, 2026, 42 CFR 438.210(d)(1) caps standard decisions at state time frames that "may not exceed 7 calendar days after receiving the request for service" — APL 26-008 acknowledges CMS-0057-F "changed the timeframe" without restating a number, so plan against 5 business days and never more than 7 calendar days. Fee-for-service: 42 CFR 440.230(e) requires standard decisions "in no case later than 7 calendar days" and expedited within 72 hours from January 1, 2026. Reauthorization: the treatment plan must be reviewed "no less than once every six months," with new authorization to continue.[8][9][20][21][22]
Medi-Cal pays after other coverage and before the Regional Center. W&I 14124.90: DHCS "shall be the payer of last resort," and "Providers shall seek reimbursement from available third-party health coverage before billing the Medi-Cal program." APL 22-027: members "with OHC must utilize their OHC for covered services prior to utilizing their Medi-Cal benefits," and a plan will not pay where the record shows other coverage "unless the Provider presents proof that all sources of payment have been exhausted" — a denial, an EOB showing non-coverage, or proof of billing with "no response for 90 days." Providers may not refuse a covered service because of other coverage. TRICARE pays ahead of Medi-Cal (10 U.S.C. 1079(i)(1) exempts "a plan administered under title XIX"). The Regional Center comes last (W&I 4659). Whether a Medi-Cal plan wants its own BHT authorization while it is secondary is not stated in APL 22-027 or 23-010 — ask the plan.[12][10][11][23][24]
No state recency rule — no diagnosis is required at all, only a physician or psychologist recommendation, and neither APL 23-010, the State Plan nor the fee-for-service manual puts an age on that recommendation. California’s 2026 ban on requiring a rediagnosis (H&S 1374.73(c)) does not reach Medi-Cal: § 1374.73(e)(2) excludes "A health care service plan contract in the Medi-Cal program." Any recency expectation is the individual plan’s.[1][19]
Ask the plan: The member’s Medi-Cal plan BHT authorization form or UM line — ask how recent the physician/psychologist recommendation must be.
None named by the state. APL 23-010 requires plans to "use current clinical criteria and guidelines," to ensure independent review if they use InterQual, and to "disclose the specific criteria on which any denial of authorization is based" — so the instruments a plan expects are set by its own UM criteria.[1]
Ask the plan: The member’s Medi-Cal plan BHT policy or UM criteria (plans must disclose the criteria behind any denial); some plans use licensed InterQual criteria.
Medi-Cal has no BHT-specific telehealth code list. The general rule (Provider Manual "Telehealth Modalities"; APL 23-007) lets any covered code be delivered by telehealth when the distant-site provider "believes that the Medi-Cal covered benefits or services being provided are clinically appropriate," with modifier 95 (video) or 93 (audio-only), POS 02 or 10, documented consent, an offer of in-person care, and payment parity. The provider must meet B&P 2290.5(a)(3), which SB 402 amended from January 1, 2026 to include "A qualified autism service provider certified by a national entity" and "a qualified autism service professional" — QAS paraprofessionals (the technicians who deliver 97153) are not on that list, so whether technician-delivered 97153 by telehealth is payable is not settled in any state document.[6][7][18]
Ask the plan: The member’s Medi-Cal plan BHT/telehealth policy — ask specifically whether 97153 delivered remotely by a paraprofessional is payable, and which POS/modifier to use.
Coverage decides whether Medi-Cal (California Medicaid) pays. These decide whether the claim survives: how sessions must be staffed and supervised, what may be billed concurrently, the per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.
No hour caps — by rule. APL 23-010: "Blanket limitations or restrictions on benefits and services, such as caps on number of hours, are prohibited," and plans "must not reduce the number of Medically Necessary BHT hours … by the hours the Member spends at school." No per-day unit ceiling is published in the state documents; any claim-level unit edits are the plan’s (or CA-MMIS’s for fee-for-service).[1]
Home, clinic, community and school. The State Plan: BHT is "designed to be delivered in the home, a clinic, and other community settings." APL 23-010 requires the treatment plan to list services "in each community setting … including on-site at school or during remote school sessions," hours "proportionate to the Member’s medical need … in each setting," and bars plans from limiting BHT "on the basis of school attendance." Excluded: a "non-conventional setting, including, but not limited to, resorts, spas, and camps" — though the November 2025 fee-for-service manual’s exclusion names only "resorts and spas," so camps are no longer excluded for FFS members.[2][1][5]
Fee-for-service: the enrolled QAS Provider or Community-Based Organization bills; individual staff are not enrolled — "Enrolled QAS Providers and Community-Based Organizations (CBOs) do not need to report QAS Providers, QAS Professionals or QAS Paraprofessionals in Medi-Cal’s online enrollment portal. This applies to QAS Providers and CBOs serving Medi-Cal members in fee-for-service and managed care," though a current roster must be available to DHCS. 97153 and 97154 "may be provided by QAS Paraprofessionals." Billable codes are 97151–97158 (modifiers U7, 99), 99366/99368, H0031, H0032, H2012, H2014, H2019, S5110 and S5111 — 0362T and 0373T are not on the fee-for-service BHT list. Rendering-NPI conventions for managed-care claims are set by each plan.[5]
The State Plan sets tiers, not ratios. QAS Professionals are "supervised by a qualified autism service provider"; QAS Paraprofessionals are supervised by a QAS provider or professional; only QAS Providers (BCBA or licensed practitioner — the fee-for-service manual adds that a licensed practitioner needs "twelve semester units in ABA and … two years of experience") assess and develop the treatment plan, which must be reviewed at least every six months. The treatment plan itself must list the hours of "observation and direction" (APL 23-010). No state document sets a supervision percentage or ratio; each plan applies its own.[3][5][1]
Ask the plan: The member’s Medi-Cal plan BHT provider manual or policy — supervision ratios are plan-set.
Not addressed. APL 23-010, the State Plan and the fee-for-service BHT manual set no rule on billing 97153 and 97155 for the same clock time; the only same-day restriction in the manual is that S5110 and S5111 may not both be billed on the same date for the same member.[5]
Ask the plan: The member’s Medi-Cal plan billing manual or provider services line; for fee-for-service, Medi-Cal claim edits via the Telephone Service Center.
No BHT session-note signature rule in the state documents. The fee-for-service manual lists documentation elements only for S5110/S5111 (date and duration, "Name and credentials of the provider," family members trained, goals, method, response, link to the plan), and says telehealth documentation "should be the same as for a comparable in-person service."[5][6]
Ask the plan: The member’s Medi-Cal plan provider manual (documentation standards) or its BHT provider contract.
Yes — as Behavioral Health Treatment (BHT) for members under 21, "regardless of diagnosis," when a licensed physician or psychologist recommends it. Managed-care members get it through their county Medi-Cal plan.
No. The State Plan and APL 23-010 require a recommendation from a licensed physician or psychologist that BHT is medically necessary, not an ASD diagnosis.
Medi-Cal first. The Medi-Cal plan is the primary BHT payer; Regional Centers are payer of last resort and, for children 3 and older, won’t fund ABA without a Medi-Cal or insurance denial (W&I 4659). Fee-for-service Medi-Cal members may choose either route.
No. APL 23-010 prohibits "caps on number of hours" and bars plans from reducing medically necessary hours by the time the child spends at school.
No. California has no behavior analyst license; BCBAs practice as qualified autism service providers on national certification, with QAS professionals and paraprofessionals working under their supervision.
Payer policies change frequently and vary by plan, state, and funding type. This guide was compiled from the sources above and last reviewed September 2026; it is general information, not billing, legal, or clinical advice. Always verify current requirements against the payer's live policy and a benefits check for the specific member.
Carelu collects all of this automatically.
Every ID, document, and detail this payer requires — gathered conversationally the moment a family reaches out, with insurance verified before your team touches the file.
Get a Demo