Iowa delivers Medicaid ABA through IA Health Link, its statewide managed-care program, so authorization runs through the member's MCO (Iowa Total Care, Wellpoint Iowa, or Molina Healthcare of Iowa) rather than the state. Two structural features shape intake more than any coverage rule. First, Iowa enrolls registered behavior technicians as their own Medicaid provider class, but claims for a technician's work must be submitted by the supervising licensed behavior analyst, so the supervision relationship is a billing structure, not just a clinical one. Second, Iowa funds a third tier: when a child qualifies for ABA under neither Medicaid nor a private mandate, the state Autism Support Program can pay, which makes "which payer actually owns this child" the first intake question. One scope trap sits underneath all of it: ABA is a Medicaid and Iowa Health and Wellness Plan benefit but not a Hawki (CHIP) benefit.
Iowa treats ABA funding as a ladder, and the rungs are written into statute. Private coverage comes first, under the autism mandates at Iowa Code sections 514C.31 (large-group and non-state public-employee plans) and 514C.28 (State of Iowa employee plans). Medicaid covers the members it covers. The state Autism Support Program then catches the remainder: Iowa Code 225D.1 defines an eligible child as one "less than fourteen years of age who has been diagnosed with autism based on a diagnostic assessment of autism, is not otherwise eligible for coverage for applied behavioral analysis treatment or applied behavior analysis treatment under the medical assistance program, section 514C.28, section 514C.31, or other private insurance coverage, and whose household income does not exceed five hundred percent of the federal poverty level." Read the direction carefully: this is the Autism Support Program excluding children who have other coverage, not Medicaid excluding children who have insurance. Medicaid's ordinary third-party-liability rules decide the Medicaid-versus-commercial question instead.[11][10][13][12]
The program is still live in 2026. Iowa HHS lists the same gates on its program page: under 14 at application, a diagnosis "made by a child psychiatrist, developmental pediatrician, or a clinical psychologist within 24 months of the date of application," no Medicaid, no private ABA coverage, and household income at or below 500% of the federal poverty level. The statute caps the benefit at $36,000 a year and 24 months of treatment, lets a child who turns 14 mid-course finish, and requires graduated cost-sharing above 200% of poverty. Applications go to the program by email; the program phone line is (515) 725-3350.[11][10][13][12]
Iowa HHS's benefit comparison (Comm. 519, revised 03/2026) lists "Behavioral Health Intervention Services (BHIS), including applied behavior analysis" as Covered for Medicaid, Covered for the Iowa Health and Wellness Plan (residential treatment excepted), and "Not covered" for Hawki, Iowa's CHIP line. All three MCO manuals say the same thing: Wellpoint's September 2026 manual lists BHIS "including applied behavior analysis" under Noncovered Services: Hawki, Molina's 2026 manual carries the same row, and Iowa Total Care issued a provider alert correcting its manual because "for Hawki members, Iowa Medicaid does NOT have BHIS or ABA as a covered benefit."[4][9][16]
Most members are in managed care: "Most Iowa Medicaid members are enrolled in the Iowa Health Link managed care program," and "some Medicaid members, however, receive coverage through a Fee-for-Service model." The three health plans in 2026 are Iowa Total Care (1-833-404-1061), Molina Healthcare of Iowa (1-844-236-0894) and Wellpoint Iowa (1-833-731-2140). Members can switch plans within 90 days of enrollment and once a year at Annual Choice.[4][9][16]
Iowa Administrative Code 441—77.31 (renumbered from 77.26 when Iowa HHS re-adopted chapter 77 effective July 1, 2026) enrolls behavioral health providers in ten classes, three of which carry the ABA workforce: licensed behavior analysts, licensed assistant behavior analysts, and registered behavior technicians. The RBT class has a deliberately wide door: eligibility requires "a current certification from the behavior analyst certification board as a registered behavior technician; or a bachelor's degree." Iowa does not force BACB certification on every technician the way some states do.[1][5]
The billing rule is the one that surprises practices. An RBT "must provide treatment under the supervision of a behavior analyst or assistant behavior analyst licensed pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 154D. Claims for payment for such services must be submitted by the supervising licensed behavior analyst." Assistant behavior analysts are held to the same rule. The technician is an enrolled provider but not an independent biller. The fee schedule makes the credential visible on every line: Iowa Medicaid's ABA letter assigns HP to doctoral-level BCBAs, HO to master's-level BCBAs, and HN to "assistant behavior analyst, non-certified support staff, or registered behavior technician." Build the supervision roster and the claims mapping together at onboarding, because a correctly supervised technician still produces unpayable claims if the claim goes out under the wrong NPI or modifier.[1][5]
Iowa's prior-authorization rule is now 441—79.9 (formerly 79.8; re-adopted effective July 1, 2026), and it opens by sending managed care away: it "governs requests for prior authorization for services not provided through an MCO. For services provided through an MCO, the prior authorization request is submitted, reviewed, and authorized by the MCO." For fee-for-service members, decisions on non-drug items and procedures "will be made according to the time frames set forth in 42 CFR 438.210(d)", and the rule keeps its backstop: "When Iowa Medicaid has not reached a decision on a request for prior authorization after 60 days from the date of receipt, the request will be approved." A denial produces a notice of decision mailed to the member within five working days, the request may be resubmitted for reconsideration with additional information, and the appeal route is now 441—Chapter 2506.[2][3][17]
Every plan uses the same paper. The uniform Outpatient Medicaid Prior Authorization Form (470-5595, Rev. 12/25) carries tick-boxes for Iowa Total Care, Wellpoint, Molina and fee-for-service, and prints the clock on its face: standard requests are decided "within 7 calendar days from receipt of all necessary information," and urgent requests "within 72 hours of receipt of request. 42 CFR §438.210." Behavioral health faxes are plan-specific: Iowa Total Care 1-844-908-1170, Wellpoint 1-844-451-2826, Molina through Availity or its UM fax. Fee-for-service requests go to Iowa Medicaid by fax at 515-725-1356, where the Quality Improvement Organization reviews medical necessity.[2][3][17]
Iowa's ABA rates are published. Rule 441—79.1 sets ABA's basis of reimbursement as the fee schedule, and the live Provider Type 62 (Behavioral Health) schedule, read on September 24, 2026, still carries the rates Informational Letter 2613-MC-FFS set on July 1, 2024 (a 5% increase, funded by 2024 Iowa Acts H.F. 2698) with no end date: 97151 $35.73 (HO/HP); 97152 $17.16 (HN) or $35.73 (HO/HP); 97153 and 97154 $17.16 (HN) or $28.59 (HO/HP); 97155 $36.81 (HO/HP); 97156 $17.16 (HN) or $28.59 (HO/HP); 97157 and 97158 $8.39 (HO) or $8.90 (HP); and G9012 case management $28.59, all per 15 minutes. 0362T and 0373T do not appear on the schedule. The increase applies "only when the codes listed below are billed by Provider Type 62 (Behavioral Health)."[7][6][2][8][18]
Telehealth is broad. Iowa Medicaid's approved telehealth list (updated July 10, 2026) opens all eight codes, 97151 through 97158, as audio/video services with modifier 95 since January 1, 2024; none is allowed audio-only. Claims must carry place of service 02 or 10, and from December 1, 2025 Iowa pays a reduced site-of-service rate on telehealth lines where the fee schedule lists a factor-code X amount. The Type 62 schedule lists no X rate for the ABA codes. The MCOs can be stricter than the state list: see each plan's guide.[7][6][2][8][18]
Iowa's rules do not define an ABA benefit of their own: neither chapter 78 nor the Behavioral Health Services and BHIS provider manuals contain ABA criteria. Iowa Total Care's manual points providers to "Iowa Medicaid guidelines published on Iowa HHS's Policy Clarification webpage" and to "Informational Letter IL1976". That letter, which should state the age range, diagnosis standard, referral and place-of-service rules, could not be located in the IMPA archive by automated search. Until it is read, those intake gates are marked unverified on this page, and each MCO's own published criteria (on the plan guides) are the working answer.[19][20]
The questions that decide whether a family can start with Iowa Medicaid (IA Health Link), and what they have to bring. Each maps onto something intake should ask on the first call.
All eight ABA codes, 97151 through 97158, are on Iowa Medicaid's approved telehealth list as audio/video services (modifier 95), open since January 1, 2024. None is allowed audio-only (modifier 93). Remote services must be billed with POS 02 (not at home) or POS 10 (at home). From December 1, 2025, telehealth lines pay a site-of-service-reduced rate only where the fee schedule lists a factor-code X amount, and the Type 62 schedule lists none for ABA. The MCOs may still restrict which components they authorize remotely: Molina limits telehealth to caregiver training, supervision and indirect components.[8][18][7]
Seven calendar days standard, 72 hours urgent, for every plan. The uniform state form 470-5595 prints the clock: standard requests are decided "within 7 calendar days from receipt of all necessary information"; urgent ones "within 72 hours of receipt of request. 42 CFR §438.210." That is the federal managed-care floor for rating periods starting on or after January 1, 2026 ("may not exceed 7 calendar days after receiving the request"). The fee-schedule side matches: 441—79.9 applies the 438.210(d) timeframes to non-drug FFS requests (the 24-hour clock in that rule is for prescription drugs only), and 42 CFR 440.230(e) independently binds the state agency to 7 days / 72 hours. Iowa keeps a backstop for FFS: "When Iowa Medicaid has not reached a decision on a request for prior authorization after 60 days from the date of receipt, the request will be approved." The clock runs from a complete request: the form warns "incomplete forms will be rejected."[3][2][14][21]
Medicaid pays last. Under 42 CFR 433.139, when the agency knows of probable third-party liability at the time the claim is filed, it "must reject the claim and return it to the provider" for a determination by the other payer. All three MCOs say the same in their own words: "Medicaid is always the payer of last resort" (Molina); "All other insurance, including Medicare, is always primary to Medicaid coverage" (Iowa Total Care). Iowa Total Care adds a front-end rule: "If a member has other primary insurance (including Medicare), all prior authorization requests must be submitted to and determined by the primary payer first." It will not coordinate when the primary denied for no authorization, and if the primary denies as non-covered or benefits exhausted, it expects its own authorization. Private coverage also comes before the state Autism Support Program, which serves only children with no Medicaid or private ABA coverage.[15][22][19][23][11]
Not confirmed at the state level. Comm. 519 lists ABA as covered for Medicaid and the Iowa Health and Wellness Plan (which covers adults) without an age band, and Hawki as not covered. The age range of the ABA benefit itself sits in Iowa Medicaid's ABA letter, which could not be read. For comparison, the BHIS behavior-intervention and family-training services in 441—78.12 are covered only for members aged 20 or under, but ABA is not defined in that rule.[4][20]
Blocked on: Iowa Medicaid Informational Letter 1976 (ABA); for a specific member, the MCO's ABA criteria (see the plan guides).
No state recency window found. The only Iowa-published window in the ABA ladder belongs to the Autism Support Program, not Medicaid: its diagnosis must be made "within 24 months of the date of application." Iowa Total Care, under CP.BH.104, wants the comprehensive diagnostic evaluation within three years for a new start.[10]
Blocked on: Iowa Medicaid Informational Letter 1976 (ABA) and the member's MCO ABA policy.
Not stated in state rule for the Medicaid benefit. For the Autism Support Program, the diagnostic assessment must be by "a licensed child psychiatrist, developmental pediatrician, or clinical psychologist" (Iowa Code 225D.1).[11]
Blocked on: Iowa Medicaid Informational Letter 1976 (ABA) and the member's MCO ABA policy.
No state instrument requirement found. Iowa Total Care (CP.BH.104) requires at least one clinician tool (for example ADOS-2, ADI-R, CARS-2) and one parent tool, and Molina's policy requires at least one validated diagnostic tool.
Blocked on: Iowa Medicaid Informational Letter 1976 (ABA) and the member's MCO ABA policy.
No state referral or order requirement for ABA was found. The all-provider record rule lists "physician orders and any prior authorizations required for Medicaid payment" among the record contents, which presumes an order exists only where one is required.[2]
Blocked on: Iowa Medicaid Informational Letter 1976 (ABA) and the member's MCO ABA policy (Iowa Total Care requires a recommendation for ABA; Molina requires PCP documentation).
Coverage decides whether Iowa Medicaid (IA Health Link) pays. These decide whether the claim survives: how sessions must be staffed and supervised, what may be billed concurrently, the per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.
Iowa sets the structure, not a ratio. A registered behavior technician "must provide treatment under the supervision of a behavior analyst or assistant behavior analyst licensed pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 154D," and a licensed assistant behavior analyst must hold current certification and provide "treatment under the supervision of a behavior analyst licensed pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 154D." No state rule or informational letter we could read sets a supervision percentage. The MCOs do: Iowa Total Care's CP.BH.104 wants protocol modification for at least two hours a week or 10% of direct hours, whichever is greater. See each plan guide.[1]
The all-provider record rule governs. Every service record must include "the complete time of the service, including the beginning and ending time if the service is billed on a time-related basis," "the first and last name and professional credentials, if any, of the person providing the service," and "the signature of the person providing the service, or the initials of the person providing the service if a signature log indicates the person's identity." Failure to maintain records or to produce them "timely upon request shall result in claim denial or recoupment." For a timed ABA code, the technician who delivered the session signs the note.[2]
The supervising licensed behavior analyst. For registered behavior technicians and licensed assistant behavior analysts alike, "Claims for payment for such services must be submitted by the supervising licensed behavior analyst." The credential of the person who delivered the unit rides on the modifier: HP doctoral-level BCBA, HO master's-level BCBA, HN "assistant behavior analyst, non-certified support staff, or registered behavior technician". The rates differ by modifier, and the 7/1/2024 increase applies only when billed by Provider Type 62 (Behavioral Health).[1][5][6]
Not stated by the state in billing terms. Iowa Medicaid's ABA letter reproduces the CPT descriptor for 97155 ("with protocol modification administered by physician or other QHP, which may include simultaneous direction of technician"), but no state rule or letter we could read says whether 97153 and 97155 both pay for the same clock time.[5]
Blocked on: Iowa Medicaid Informational Letter 1976 (ABA) and the member's MCO claims-editing policy; FFS: Iowa Medicaid Provider Services 1-800-338-7909.
No state per-day or per-week ABA ceiling was found. The Type 62 fee schedule lists rates and modifiers but no unit limits, and chapter 78 carries no ABA section. Iowa Total Care caps planned treatment at six hours a day and 30 hours a week unless documentation justifies more (CP.BH.104).[7]
Blocked on: Iowa Medicaid Informational Letter 1976 (ABA) and each MCO's authorization letter, which states the approved units.
No state ABA place-of-service rule was found in the rules or letters we could read. What is set is telehealth coding: services delivered remotely must be on the approved list and billed with POS 02 (patient not at home) or POS 10 (patient at home).[18]
Blocked on: Iowa Medicaid Informational Letter 1976 (ABA) — request from Iowa Medicaid Provider Services 1-800-338-7909 or via carelu.com/sources.
Yes, for Medicaid and Iowa Health and Wellness Plan members, not for Hawki (CHIP) members. Most members are in IA Health Link managed care, so the member's MCO (Iowa Total Care, Wellpoint Iowa, or Molina Healthcare of Iowa) administers prior authorization and utilization management.
No. An RBT is an enrolled provider class under Iowa Admin. Code 441—77.31, but must work under the supervision of a licensed behavior analyst or assistant behavior analyst, and the rule requires that claims for those services be submitted by the supervising licensed behavior analyst, with the HN modifier.
Within 7 calendar days of a complete standard request and 72 hours for an urgent one, under the uniform state form 470-5595 and the federal managed-care rule. For fee-for-service requests, Iowa Admin. Code 441—79.9 approves any request still undecided 60 days after receipt.
Per 15 minutes, on the fee schedule effective 7/1/2024 and still current in September 2026: 97153 $17.16 by a technician (HN) or $28.59 by a BCBA (HO/HP); 97151 $35.73; 97155 $36.81; 97156 $17.16 or $28.59.
The state Autism Support Program funds ABA for children under 14 with an autism diagnosis made within the previous 24 months by a child psychiatrist, developmental pediatrician, or clinical psychologist, whose household income is at or below 500% of the federal poverty level and who are not eligible for ABA through Medicaid or private insurance. It pays up to $36,000 a year for up to 24 months.
Payer policies change frequently and vary by plan, state, and funding type. This guide was compiled from the sources above and last reviewed September 2026; it is general information, not billing, legal, or clinical advice. Always verify current requirements against the payer's live policy and a benefits check for the specific member.
Carelu collects all of this automatically.
Every ID, document, and detail this payer requires — gathered conversationally the moment a family reaches out, with insurance verified before your team touches the file.
Get a Demo