UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Kentucky is a Kentucky Medicaid MCO whose behavioral health benefit, including ABA, is managed by Optum (United Behavioral Health). ABA authorization runs on Optum’s Provider Express, with separate entry points for the assessment and for treatment.
The 2026 care provider manual lists "Applied behavioral health analysis (ABA)" among covered outpatient behavioral health services and routes behavioral health eligibility, claims, benefits, authorization and appeals to Optum (providerexpress.com, 1-866-633-4449), adding that "A PCP referral is not required." Optum’s Kentucky prior authorization code list, effective July 15, 2026, puts all eight ABA codes (97151–97158) on the list and says network providers submit ABA requests "via the Provider Express secure portal," with separate links where "ABA assessment requests begin here" and "ABA treatment requests begin here." The list points to the Kentucky Medicaid Supplemental Clinical Criteria for state-specific criteria, but that document (June 2026) covers day treatment, community support, PRTF, peer support, case management and therapeutic rehabilitation only, not ABA. For medical necessity the manual names "InterQual Care Guidelines, American Society of Addictive Medicine, CMS or other nationally recognized guidelines."[1][2][3]
The manual’s turnaround table promises non-urgent pre-service decisions "Within 2 business days of receiving the request" and urgent ones within 24 hours. "Timely filing in Kentucky is 12 months from the date of service." Claim reconsiderations are accepted within 24 months of the provider remittance advice and answered in 45 business days; a formal claim appeal is due "60 calendar days from the provider remittance advice" and resolved within 30 calendar days. After the internal process, an external independent third-party review decides within 30 calendar days, and a final decision can go to the Cabinet’s Division of Administrative Hearings.[1]
The questions that decide whether a family can start with UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Kentucky, and what they have to bring. Each maps onto something intake should ask on the first call.
No. "A PCP referral is not required" for behavioral health services; prior authorization is the gate.[1][2]
The plan’s manual publishes no ABA telehealth rule for Kentucky Medicaid, so the state rule applies. 907 KAR 3:170 makes its telehealth policies "supersede any in-person requirement established within KAR Title 907" (unless a law, licensing board, professional criteria or the billing code itself requires in-person), applies them to fee-for-service and to MCO coverage alike, and defines place of service as wherever the patient is, "including … the patient’s home or office, or a clinic, school, or workplace." A service is reimbursable by telehealth when it is appropriate and safe for the technology, not prohibited by the provider’s licensing board, and delivered by an enrolled provider; reimbursement is at least 100 percent of the in-person rate (an MCO may negotiate otherwise), telehealth must be denoted "by place of service or other means," and referral rules are the same as in person. Neither DMS nor any Kentucky MCO document read publishes an ABA-specific telehealth code list or modifier. The licensing board requires a Kentucky license for anyone delivering ABA by telehealth to a client located in Kentucky (201 KAR 43:100, Section 2).[1][7][14]
The manual: non-urgent pre-service decisions "Within 2 business days of receiving the request," urgent within 24 hours. Kentucky’s MCO contract (§ 18.6) is stricter than the federal floor: a standard prior authorization is decided "no later than five (5) Days after receiving the necessary information" (contract "Day" means calendar day; "necessary information" is as defined in KRS 304.17A-607), extendable up to 14 days at the provider’s or enrollee’s request; expedited decisions within 24 hours of all necessary information; and "an untimely service authorization constitutes a Denial" that can be appealed. Federal law caps standard MCO decisions at 7 calendar days from the request for rating periods starting on or after January 1, 2026.[1][5][9]
"UnitedHealthcare Community Plan is the payer of last resort"; bill other coverage first and submit its EOB or remittance with the claim. Medicaid pays last. The MCO contract (§ 14.2) says Medicaid "shall be used as a source of payment for Covered Services only after all other sources of payment have been exhausted," and when another resource is known the plan "shall avoid payment by ‘cost avoiding’ (denying) the Claim and redirecting the provider to bill the other Third Party Resource as a primary payer" (42 CFR 433.139). So bill the commercial plan first and follow its ABA prior authorization.[1][5][10]
Not stated for Kentucky Medicaid ABA.[2]
Ask the plan: Optum Provider Services, 1-866-633-4449.
Not stated by the plan. Kentucky law excludes diagnosis from the practice of ABA (KRS 319C.010(8)).[1][13]
Ask the plan: Optum Provider Services, 1-866-633-4449.
Not stated for Kentucky Medicaid ABA; InterQual is licensed.[1]
In licensed criteria: Optum Provider Services, 1-866-633-4449.
Coverage decides whether UnitedHealthcare Community Plan of Kentucky pays. These decide whether the claim survives: how sessions must be staffed and supervised, what may be billed concurrently, the per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.
The plan and Optum publish no Kentucky Medicaid ABA supervision rule; the state rule applies. 907 KAR 15:010, Section 3(3)(r)4 says ABA "shall be provided by" a licensed behavior analyst, a licensed assistant behavior analyst, or an approved behavioral health practitioner (or one under supervision) "with documented training in applied behavior analysis," and that "a registered behavior technician under the supervision of an appropriate practitioner" may provide "support services." No numeric supervision ratio is set. The documentation rules carry the supervision: notes by a practitioner working under supervision must be co-signed and dated by the supervising professional within 30 days, with a monthly supervisory note on the case. 907 KAR 15:005 defines the RBT by BACB training, competency assessment and exam, within six months of hire.[1][3][6][12]
The plan publishes no ABA-specific note rule; the state rule applies. Under 907 KAR 15:010, Section 6, service notes must be made within 48 hours of each visit, say whether the service was face-to-face or telehealth, state a start and end time, and be "recorded and signed by the rendering behavioral health practitioner" with the practitioner’s professional title; "initials, typed signatures, or stamped signatures shall not be accepted" (compliant electronic signatures are allowed under Section 9). Notes by a practitioner under supervision are co-signed by the supervisor within 30 days, and the plan of care is reviewed at least every six months.[1][6]
The plan publishes no ABA concurrent-billing rule for Kentucky Medicaid. DMS allows 97155 concurrently with 97153 from December 2, 2025 when the patient is present and the professional is directing the technician.[8][1]
Ask the plan: UnitedHealthcare Community Plan / Optum Provider Services, 1-866-633-4449.
No ABA unit cap is published for Kentucky Medicaid; units are set by the Optum authorization.[2][1]
Ask the plan: Optum Provider Services, 1-866-633-4449.
The plan publishes no ABA setting rule for Kentucky Medicaid; the state regulation sets none.[1][6]
Ask the plan: Optum Provider Services, 1-866-633-4449: ask which place-of-service codes it pays for ABA.
Clean claims must include the provider’s NPI and federal TIN; the manual publishes no ABA-specific rendering rule.[1]
Ask the plan: Optum Provider Services, 1-866-633-4449: ask whether RBT services bill under the supervising licensed behavior analyst with modifier UC as on the DMS fee schedule.
Yes, for all eight ABA codes, including the 97151 and 97152 assessment, through Optum’s Provider Express.
Optum (United Behavioral Health) handles behavioral health eligibility, authorization, claims and appeals, at 1-866-633-4449.
12 months from the date of service.
Payer policies change frequently and vary by plan, state, and funding type. This guide was compiled from the sources above and last reviewed October 2026; it is general information, not billing, legal, or clinical advice. Always verify current requirements against the payer's live policy and a benefits check for the specific member.
Carelu collects all of this automatically.
Every ID, document, and detail this payer requires — gathered conversationally the moment a family reaches out, with insurance verified before your team touches the file.
Get a Demo