Payer Guide · Geisinger Health Plan · Pennsylvania

Geisinger Health Plan ABA coverage in Pennsylvania: the intake guide.

Last updated September 202610 primary sources

Geisinger Health Plan (with Geisinger Quality Options and Geisinger Indemnity) is the integrated health system’s insurer across central and northeastern Pennsylvania. For ABA it is the easiest of the Pennsylvania commercial plans at the front door: in-network ABA for a child with a valid autism diagnosis no longer needs prior authorization.

That changes what intake has to get right. Instead of assembling an authorization packet, confirm three things: the provider is directly contracted and credentialed with GHP, the diagnosis on the claim is autism, and the plan is not a self-funded or TPA group that has kept its own rules. This guide sets out GHP’s policy MP232, its prior authorization list and forms, and the Act 62 mandate underneath.

Prior auth for the assessment
Not required in network for autism. Geisinger’s provider forms page says "In-network applied behavioral analysis for autism with a valid diagnosis no longer needs prior authorization". The prior authorization list (updated 8/24/2026) puts ABA codes, 97151 included, on the list only "when billed for any diagnosis except Autism" (effective 7/15/2023). Referrals to non-participating providers still need authorization.[3][2]
Prior auth for treatment
Not required in network for ASD. ABA treatment codes (97153–97158, 0362T, 0373T) need prior authorization only for non-autism diagnoses, and non-participating providers need an authorized referral. For Medicare, Commercial, CHIP and most TPA plans, questions go to 888-839-7972. The ABA request form (fax 570-214-3573, or the Cohere portal) is still used where authorization applies. The list notes that requirements are "Contract Dependent", so check self-funded/TPA groups.[2][3][4]
Autism diagnosis required?
An ASD diagnosis is what makes ABA authorization-free: in-network ABA "for autism with a valid diagnosis" needs no prior authorization, while ABA billed for any other diagnosis does. Policy MP232 (Autism Spectrum Disorder – Evaluation and Medical Management) is the plan’s ABA coverage policy.[3][2][1]
Covers ABA?Yes — policy MP232 (Commercial, ACA, CHIP, Medicaid, Medicare) applies the 2017 OMHSAS ABA medical-necessity guideline
State mandateAct 62 of 2008 — Insurance Company Law § 635.2 (40 P.S. § 764h)
Mandate ageUnder 21 — diagnostic assessment and treatment of ASD, including ABA
Mandate capsStatutory annual max $51,908 (policies issued/renewed 2026; $53,310 in 2027), no visit limits — but PID treats autism as a mental health condition under MHPAEA and expects the cap to have no impact on coverage
Exempt from mandateSelf-funded ERISA plans; individual and small-group (50 or fewer employees) policies; accident-only, fixed-indemnity, limited-benefit and other excepted policies
LicensureNo behavior-analyst license in PA; the State Board of Medicine licenses Behavior Specialists (Act 62 § 635.2(g); 49 Pa. Code §§ 18.521ff.)
Prior authNone for in-network ABA with a valid autism diagnosis; required for other diagnoses and out of network
BH contactGHP Behavioral Health Care Connector, 888-839-7972 (Mon–Fri 8–5)

The coverage policy: MP232

Geisinger’s ABA coverage lives in medical policy MP232, "Autism Spectrum Disorder – Evaluation and Medical Management", which applies to Commercial, ACA, CHIP, Medicaid and Medicare lines. The policy says it "is consistent with Pennsylvania state mandated coverage for autism spectrum disorder" and that some provisions "may apply only to those contracts subject to PA Act 62." For ABA it says one thing: "Criteria for coverage will be in accordance with the OMHSAS Bulletin Medical Necessity Guideline for ABA using BSC-ASD & TSS Services for Children & Adolescents with ASD issued Jan 13th 2017."[1][5][11]

MP232 was revised in March 2026 to "revise requirements for parity". The current version no longer contains the treatment-plan documentation checklist or the physician-documentation criteria for PT/OT/speech that the plan’s May 2026 update shows being removed. The 2023 wording that limited ABA to members "eligible for state mandated services" is also not in the current text. The evaluation section lists what GHP treats as medically necessary in an ASD workup for under-21s: screening tools (M-CHAT, SCQ, PDDST-II and others), standardized diagnostic tools (CARS, ADI-R, ADOS), targeted genetic and lab testing, and speech, vision and audiology evaluations.[1][5][11]

What the OMHSAS guideline asks for

The guideline MP232 points to is OMHSAS-17-01, a Medical Assistance bulletin written for the old BSC-ASD/TSS model. For a prior-authorization request it asks for: the most recent face-to-face evaluation or re-evaluation by a board-certified or board-eligible child and adolescent psychiatrist, developmental pediatrician, pediatric neurologist or licensed child psychologist (or, where none is available, a licensed physician or psychologist), "performed not more than 60 days prior to the requested begin date"; a prescription for ABA; and an individualized behavior-based treatment plan.[6][1]

Now that in-network ASD ABA needs no prior authorization, these documents are what GHP would look for on review or when an authorization does apply (non-ASD diagnosis, out-of-network). How strictly GHP applies the Medical Assistance paperwork parts of the bulletin to a commercial member is not stated. Treat it as a question for the Care Connector team.[6][1]

Prior authorization, forms and the network

GHP’s prior authorization list (updated August 24, 2026) groups ABA with other non-routine behavioral health services and lists 97151–97158, 0362T and 0373T. Its note reads: "Effective 7/15/2023, ABA service will require a Prior Authorization when billed for any diagnosis except Autism." The provider forms page says the same for network providers: "In-network applied behavioral analysis for autism with a valid diagnosis no longer needs prior authorization." Referrals to non-participating providers still need authorization, and the list marks behavioral health requirements as "Contract Dependent". For Medicare, Commercial, CHIP and most TPA plans, the behavioral health number is 888-839-7972.[2][3][4][7]

Where authorization does apply, GHP’s ABA Request Form covers initial assessment, initial treatment and concurrent review. It asks for hours by setting (home, school, facility/clinic, other) and computes units as hours × 4 × 26, which is a 26-week request. Submit by fax to 570-214-3573 or through the Cohere portal. GHP also requires behavioral health providers to "have a direct contract and be credentialed with GHP to see GHP patients." Commercial ABA rates are negotiated and not published.[2][3][4][7]

Act 62 and licensure

On Geisinger policies issued to groups of 51 or more employees (and on GHP Kids, which is CHIP), Act 62 guarantees coverage of the diagnostic assessment and treatment of ASD, including ABA, for members under 21. The CPI-adjusted statutory maximum is $51,908 for 2026 ($53,310 in 2027), which the Insurance Department expects to have no effect under parity. Act 62 lets the insurer review a treatment plan every six months and bars making coverage depend on an IEP. Individual, small-group and self-funded plans are outside it.[8][9][12][13]

Pennsylvania has no behavior-analyst licensure law; the State Board of Medicine licenses Behavior Specialists. MP232 separately treats services by unlicensed practitioners, or services that need no license, as unproven. Whether that reaches BCBAs who hold no Pennsylvania license is something to confirm with GHP credentialing.[8][9][12][13]

Intake gates

The questions that decide whether a family can start with Geisinger Health Plan in Pennsylvania, and what they have to bring. Each maps onto something intake should ask on the first call.

Age limitPlan-dependent

MP232’s evaluation services are framed for "children and adolescents under age 21", and the OMHSAS guideline it adopts covers ABA for children and adolescents under 21. On Act 62 plans the mandate covers members under 21. GHP publishes no separate age cap for commercial ABA, so an adult or individual/self-funded case depends on the plan.[1][6][8]

Ask the plan: GHP Behavioral Health Care Connector, 888-839-7972 — ask whether the plan covers ABA at the member’s age.

Diagnosis recencyPlan-dependent

GHP asks only for "a valid diagnosis" for authorization-free in-network ABA and defines no expiry. Where the OMHSAS-17-01 documentation applies (authorized requests), it wants the most recent evaluation or re-evaluation "performed not more than 60 days prior to the requested begin date". On Act 62 plans, diagnostic results are "valid for a period of twelve (12) months" unless a physician or psychologist decides otherwise.[3][6][8]

Ask the plan: GHP Behavioral Health Care Connector, 888-839-7972 — ask what makes a diagnosis "valid" (evaluation age, evaluator) for authorization-free ABA.

Who may diagnosePlan-dependent

GHP names no diagnosing-provider list for commercial ABA. The OMHSAS-17-01 guideline MP232 adopts expects the evaluation from a board-certified or board-eligible child and adolescent psychiatrist, developmental pediatrician, pediatric neurologist or licensed child psychologist (or a licensed physician or psychologist when none is available). Act 62 defines the diagnostic assessment as one by a licensed physician, physician assistant, psychologist or CRNP.[6][8]

Ask the plan: GHP Behavioral Health Care Connector, 888-839-7972 — confirm whether a primary-care or nurse-practitioner diagnosis is accepted.

Diagnostic tools requiredPlan-dependent

MP232 lists the ASD workup GHP treats as medically necessary: validated screening (Autism Screening Questionnaire, PDDST-II, CHAT, M-CHAT, SCQ) and standardized diagnostic tools (CARS, ADI-R, ADOS). It does not say a particular instrument must be behind the diagnosis before ABA is paid. The ABA request form lists skills assessments such as VB-MAPP, ABLLS-R, functional behavior assessment and functional analysis under 97151.[1][4]

Ask the plan: GHP Behavioral Health Care Connector, 888-839-7972 — ask whether a standardized diagnostic instrument must appear in the evaluation.

Referral required?Plan-dependent

GHP does not state a referral requirement for in-network autism ABA, which needs no prior authorization. Out-of-network care needs an authorized referral ("Any referral to a nonparticipating provider/facility for nonemergency services", contract dependent). The OMHSAS-17-01 guideline expects "A prescription for ABA" with an authorization request. On Act 62 plans, treatment must be in a treatment plan developed by a licensed physician or licensed psychologist.[2][6][8]

Ask the plan: GHP Behavioral Health Care Connector, 888-839-7972 — ask whether a physician prescription must be on file for authorization-free ABA.

Prior-auth decision timePlan-dependent

For in-network autism ABA there is no prior authorization, so no clock. Where authorization applies (non-ASD diagnosis, out of network, some TPA groups): fully insured plans follow Act 146 (Insurance Company Law § 2155) — non-urgent "within 15 days", urgent care not yet started within 72 hours, an ongoing urgent course within 24 hours when requested at least 24 hours before it would be cut, and peer-to-peer offered on denial (GHP Medical Management 800-544-3907). Self-funded plans follow ERISA, 29 CFR 2560.503-1: 15 days plus one 15-day extension, 72 hours urgent.[3][10][15]

Ask the plan: GHP Behavioral Health Care Connector, 888-839-7972 — confirm the group follows the no-auth rule; if not, confirm the review turnaround and concurrent-review lead time.

Other insurance (who pays first)Plan-dependent

If the child also has Pennsylvania Medical Assistance (often PH-95, which disregards parental income), GHP commercial pays first. 55 Pa. Code § 1101.64 requires other insurance to be "utilized before billing the MA Program", and IBHS is not paid when a third party is available (§ 1155.31(e)). DHS tells providers to bill the child’s private insurance before MA for ASD assessment and treatment. TRICARE pays after this plan (10 U.S.C. 1079(i)(1)); CHAMPVA "would be the last payer" (38 CFR 17.270). No Pennsylvania rule fixing the order for a child on both parents’ plans was located, and GHP’s ABA documents do not state one — ask GHP which plan is primary.[16][17][18][19][20][21]

Ask the plan: GHP customer/provider services at benefit verification — ask for the coordination-of-benefits order (birthday rule for two parents’ plans) and record every other coverage the child has.

TelehealthUnverified

Not found. GHP’s clinical-policy page loads its list by script and no telemedicine medical or reimbursement policy was retrievable, so which ABA codes GHP pays by telehealth, and with which POS/modifier, is unconfirmed.[14]

Blocked on: GHP Behavioral Health Care Connector, 888-839-7972, or GHP provider services — ask for the telehealth billing policy (eligible ABA codes, POS 02/10, modifier); request the policy document via carelu.com/sources.

Delivery & billing rules

Coverage decides whether Geisinger Health Plan in Pennsylvania pays. These decide whether the claim survives: how sessions must be staffed and supervised, what may be billed concurrently, the per-day ceilings, who signs the note, where the service is payable, and whose NPI the claim goes out under.

Supervision

GHP’s ABA Request Form (rev. 6/22) describes 97153 as treatment by a technician under the direction of a physician/QHP, "receiving 1 hour of supervision for every 5 to 10 hours of direct treatment". 0362T and 0373T require the physician/QHP to be on site with two or more technicians. MP232 itself sets no supervision ratio.[4]

Place of servicePlan-dependent

The ABA Request Form asks for hours by setting — Home, School, Facility/clinic and Other — so GHP will consider requests in those settings. Whether a particular plan pays school-based ABA is contract-specific. Act 62 bars making coverage depend on an IEP but does not require covering a service just because it is in one.[4][8]

Ask the plan: GHP Behavioral Health Care Connector, 888-839-7972 — ask whether the member’s contract pays ABA in school or community settings.

Bill as providerPlan-dependent

"Behavioral health providers should have a direct contract and be credentialed with GHP to see GHP patients." The ABA request form captures a requesting provider and a servicing provider (each with NPI, TIN and certification/license number). No GHP document read says whose NPI goes in the rendering field for technician-delivered 97153.[3][4]

Ask the plan: GHP credentialing / provider services — ask whether technician services bill under the supervising BCBA’s or the group’s NPI.

Concurrent billing (97153 + 97155)Ask the plan

Not addressed. MP232, the prior authorization list and the ABA request form say nothing on billing 97153 and 97155 for the same time.[1]

Ask the plan: GHP provider services or the provider agreement — ask whether 97153 and 97155 may be billed for overlapping time.

Daily limits / MUEsAsk the plan

Not published. GHP posts no per-day or per-week ABA unit ceiling. Where authorization applies, the request form asks for hours and computes units as hours × 4 × 26, a 26-week request. On Act 62 plans the $51,908 (2026) statutory cap is, per the Insurance Department, not expected to affect coverage under parity.[4][9]

Ask the plan: GHP Behavioral Health Care Connector, 888-839-7972 — ask whether the plan applies any unit/hour limit to ABA billed without authorization.

Session-note signatureUnverified

Not addressed. The treatment-plan documentation list (including "Signature of the member ordering physician and therapist") was removed from MP232 in the March 2026 parity revision. No current GHP document read says who must sign an ABA session note.[5][1]

Blocked on: The GHP provider agreement / provider manual documentation section — ask GHP provider services for the behavioral health record standard.

What intake should collect for Geisinger Health Plan in Pennsylvania
Plan type and fundingGeisinger commercial (fully insured vs. self-funded/TPA), Marketplace, GHP Kids (CHIP) or GHP Family (Medicaid — behavioral health goes to the county BH-MCO, not GHP).
Member ID + card photoTo confirm with the Care Connector team (888-839-7972) that the group follows the no-prior-auth rule for autism ABA.
Autism diagnosisA valid ASD diagnosis is what removes the prior-auth requirement — the claim must carry it. Get the report, date and evaluator credentials.
Prescription and treatment planThe OMHSAS guideline MP232 cites expects a prescription for ABA and an individualized treatment plan; Act 62 plans need a physician- or psychologist-developed plan.
Network statusYour practice must be directly contracted and credentialed with GHP; out-of-network ABA still needs authorization.
Other coverageMedical Assistance (including PH-95), a second parent’s plan, TRICARE or CHAMPVA.
Download the free verification-call checklist (PDF)

Common questions

Does Geisinger Health Plan require prior authorization for ABA?

Not in network for autism. GHP says in-network ABA for autism with a valid diagnosis no longer needs prior authorization. ABA billed for any other diagnosis, and out-of-network care, still does. Some self-funded or TPA groups may differ, so confirm at 888-839-7972.

What criteria does Geisinger use for ABA?

Policy MP232 says ABA coverage follows the Pennsylvania OMHSAS Medical Necessity Guideline for ABA (bulletin OMHSAS-17-01, January 13, 2017). It was written for Medical Assistance and asks for a recent evaluation, a prescription and an individualized treatment plan.

Does Geisinger cover ABA under Act 62?

Yes — insured Geisinger groups with 51 or more employees, and GHP Kids (CHIP), must cover ASD assessment and treatment, including ABA, for members under 21. Individual, small-group and self-funded plans fall outside Act 62; MP232 still governs ABA criteria where the benefit exists.

What does Geisinger pay for ABA?

Commercial ABA rates are not published; they are negotiated in your GHP provider agreement.

Primary sources
  1. Geisinger Health Plan Policy MP232 — Autism Spectrum Disorder: Evaluation and Medical Management (revised 3/26)
  2. Geisinger Health Plan — Prior authorization list (last updated 8/24/2026)
  3. Geisinger Health Plan — Providers Forms and Resources (behavioral health forms)
  4. Geisinger Health Plan — Applied Behavioral Analysis (ABA) Request Form
  5. Geisinger Health Plan — "What’s New" Medical Policy Updates, May 2026 (MP232 revised for parity)
  6. OMHSAS-17-01 — Reissue of Medical Necessity Guidelines for ABA Using BSC-ASD and TSS Services (Jan. 13, 2017)
  7. Geisinger Health Plan — Behavioral Health Services for Members
  8. Act 62 of 2008 (HB 1150, PN 4115) — Insurance Company Law § 635.2 enacted text
  9. PA Insurance Department Notice 2026-06 — Autism coverage CPI-U adjustment and parity reminder (56 Pa.B. 1396)
  10. Act 146 of 2022 — Insurance Company Law Art. XXI amendments incl. § 2155 prior authorization review (Justia)
  11. Geisinger Health Plan — "What’s New" Medical Policy Updates, June 2023 (MP232 ABA criteria)
  12. PA State Board of Medicine — Behavior Specialist Licensure Requirements Snapshot
  13. BACB — U.S. Licensure of Behavior Analysts (PA absent; checked September 2026)
  14. Geisinger Health Plan — Clinical Policies for Providers
  15. 29 CFR 2560.503-1 — ERISA claims procedure
  16. 55 Pa. Code § 1101.64 — Third-party medical resources (TPR)
  17. PA DHS — Pennsylvania Autism Insurance Act (Act 62)
  18. PA DHS — Medicaid for Children with Special Needs (PH95)
  19. 42 CFR 433.139 — Payment of claims (third-party liability)
  20. 10 U.S.C. 1079(i)(1) — TRICARE pays after other coverage except Medicaid
  21. 38 CFR 17.270 — CHAMPVA is the last payer

Payer policies change frequently and vary by plan, state, and funding type. This guide was compiled from the sources above and last reviewed September 2026; it is general information, not billing, legal, or clinical advice. Always verify current requirements against the payer's live policy and a benefits check for the specific member.

Carelu collects all of this automatically.

Every ID, document, and detail this payer requires — gathered conversationally the moment a family reaches out, with insurance verified before your team touches the file.

Get a Demo